Troll Quote, Troll Quote, Off To Make A Troll Quote!

As a fan of Babylon 5, when I read the description of Troll Quotes, my thoughts immediately went to Londo Mollari, the sarcastic, sharp-tongued Centauri ambassador. Any script from the show could be mined for a dozen or so entertaining and insulting quotes from him, though the line “What do you want, you moon-faced assassin of joy?” from the episode “Born to the Purple” has always been one of my favorites.

I decided to use this quote, and then was faced with who to attribute it to. Col. Saul Tigh from Battlestar Galactica seemed like a good choice. He too has many sarcastic one-liners. He might have said this to Starbuck while hungover. And I also thought of Quark from Deep Space 9. I seem to remember him having a lot of amusing dialogue (though admittedly I haven’t watched Deep Space 9, and could be confusing Armin Shimerman’s portrayals of Quark and Principal Snyder). Plus Quark makes for an interesting visual.

Combining the image and quote in Photoshop took about 2 minutes, though my first attempt looked too similar to the example used in the assignment:

So I decided to make a second attempt with a more challenging image:

I tried to set it up so that the background to the text looked like Quark’s reflection on a counter (perhaps the bar at Quark’s?). I flipped the image vertically, set the transparency to 65%, and then created a mask and manually did a gradient with the brush and blur tools (you can still see some of the individual strokes; I’ve decided to pretend they are streaks on the counter). I then added the text with a drop-shadow that matched the color of his shirt (three cheers for the eye-dropper color selector!). I’m still not completely happy with how it turned out, but I think I would need to spend a lot of time digging for the right image to get it exactly how I want. And that would cut down on my precious time trolling B5, BSG, and DS9 fans on the interwebs.

 

 

This entry was posted in Assignments, Visual and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

